P05 - Centro de Investigaciones Energéticas, Medioambientales y Tecnológicas - CIEMAT - Spain

The CIEMAT (Centro de Investigaciones Energéticas, Medioambientales y Tecnológicas) is a public research body assigned to the Ministry of Economy and Competitiveness under the Secretariat of State for Research, Development and Innovation, focusing on energy and environment and the technologies related to them. It has offices in several different regions of Spain, and its activity is structured around projects which form a bridge between R&D&I and social interest goals.

CIEMAT Nuclear R&D Division contributes to the improvement of safety in current and future nuclear facilities, through the assimilation, development and validation of risk evaluation methodologies and the reduction of existing uncertainties in hypothetical accident situations. Provide scientific and technical support required for adequate radioactive waste management and long-lived radionuclide partitioning processes. Contribute to the development of advanced nuclear fuel cycles capable of facilitating radioactive waste management and improving the sustainability of nuclear fission as an energy source, including the design of advanced concepts of nuclear reactors and ADS.

The Nuclear R&D Division at CIEMAT has participated on the R&D on advance fuel cycles, partitioning and transmutation and the use of ADS for nuclear wastes transmutation from 1993, contributing to eight projects of the FP5 and in some FP6 projects as EUROTRANS and Red-Impact. It is participating in FP7 ANDES (as coordinator), CHANDA (as coordinator), CP-ESFR, CDT-FASTEF, MAXSIMA and FAIRFUELS, SARNET, ARTIST, HotLab, ACTINET Thematic Network, ACSEPT and SACESS as well as several ISTC projects and national projects. It has also contributed to several NEA/OCDE and IAEA related studies and was one of the members of the TWG for the European Roadmap for ADS.

Key persons

  • Enrique González Romero
  • David Villamarín Fernández
  • Vicente Bécares Palacios
  • Francisco Alvarez Velarde
  • Mª de los Hitos Galán
  • Ana Núñez
  • Joaquin Cobos
  • Segio Fernández Carretero